If you’re like many people in Illinois, you know that having an order of protection against you can make life difficult – and it may prevent you from doing some things that you need to do. But is it possible to get in touch with your ex through someone else if they have an order of protection against you? This guide explains.
Can You Contact Your Ex Through Someone Else if They Have an Order of Protection Against You?
If your ex has an order of protection against you, it may say that you’re not allowed to contact them (though the court makes exceptions for dropping off and picking up children). Generally – unless it’s a genuine emergency – that means you aren’t supposed to call or text one of their friends, family members or acquaintances to ask them to pass along a message, either.
What Happens if You Contact Your Ex Despite an Order of Protection?
Because an order of protection is an official court order, you can face legal consequences for violating it. If your order doesn’t say that you’re prohibited from contacting the other party, contacting them is not a violation – but if it does say that you’re not permitted to call, email, text or otherwise contact the person, you can be charged with a crime.
Violating a Domestic Violence Order of Protection
The first time you violate a Domestic Violence Order of Protection, you’re facing a Class A misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation is a Class 4 felony.
Violating a Sexual Assault Civil No Contact Order
The first time you violate a Sexual Assault Civil No Contact Order, it’s a Class A misdemeanor. Any further violations are Class 4 felonies.
Violating a Stalking No Contact Order
If you violate a Stalking No Contact Order, you’re facing a Class A misdemeanor. If you violate it more than once, each violation is a Class 4 felony.
Penalties for Contacting Your Ex With an Order of Protection or No Contact Order
The penalty for a Class A misdemeanor is up to a year in jail and fines of up to $2,500. The penalty for a Class 4 felony is up to 3 years in prison and fines of up to $25,000.
Do You Need to Talk to an Attorney About Domestic Battery Defense?
If you need to talk to a domestic battery defense attorney in Illinois, we’re here to help. Call us at 847-920-4540 now – we’ll be happy to give you a free consultation and talk to you about your options.