Can I get a free consultation with a domestic violence defense lawyer?2016-10-20T18:01:14-05:00

You can (and should) get a free consultation from a domestic violence defense lawyer in Chicago. During your free consultation, your attorney will get all the facts; he’ll ask you about what happened, what the alleged victim is saying, and what you’ve said to police.

Your lawyer will begin developing a strategy during your free initial consultation, as well. It’s important that you give your lawyer all the information you have so he can build a defense that gets you the best possible outcome.

You can call us at 847-920-4540 at any time for a free domestic violence defense consultation. We can help you through this tough time—just as we’ve helped dozens of others in and around Chicago who were facing the same charges.

What is an order of protection?2016-10-26T17:21:27-05:00

An order of protection (commonly called a “restraining order”) is a legally binding court order—and it’s one that could change the way you live your day-to-day life. An order of protection can restrict you from entering your own home, prevent you from seeing your own children, or even require that you turn over property (including your personal weapons) to law enforcement officials or the alleged victim.

What are the consequences of an aggravated domestic battery charge in Illinois?2016-10-20T17:59:58-05:00

If a judge convicts you of aggravated domestic battery, it’s a Class 2 felony. Aggravated domestic battery carries a possible penalty of 3 to 7 years of imprisonment. However, if you have a prior conviction, you could spend up to 14 years in prison.

What are the consequences of a domestic battery charge in Illinois?2016-10-20T18:01:36-05:00

If a judge convicts you of domestic battery in Chicago, Skokie, or Rolling Meadows (or elsewhere in Illinois), it’s typically a Class A misdemeanor. Your judge can sentence you to up to a year behind bars and order you to pay a fine of up to $2,500.

In some cases, domestic battery is a Class 4 felony. In that case, your judge may sentence you to up to 3 years in prison and order you to pay a fine of up to $25,000.

Why do I need a lawyer for a domestic violence charge?2016-10-20T18:02:05-05:00

The state of Illinois takes domestic violence very seriously—but there’s more to it than that. Being convicted of domestic battery or aggravated domestic battery can result in you spending time behind bars, paying hefty fines, and living with the stigma of being a so-called “domestic abuser” for the rest of your life.

While no two cases are the same, it’s always important that you have a skilled, knowledgeable attorney by your side during this difficult process. The prosecution will attempt to prove that you’re guilty of abusing a family member, and you need someone who can help protect your reputation and your rights.

What is domestic violence in Illinois?2016-10-20T18:02:23-05:00

Under Illinois law, domestic violence is actually called domestic battery (or, in some cases, aggravated domestic battery). The law defines it as causing bodily harm to any family or household member or making physical contact of an insulting or provoking nature with any family or household member.

That can include:

  • Acts of intimidation
  • Assault
  • Battery
  • Biting
  • Choking
  • Kicking
  • Open-handed slapping
  • Punching
  • Sexual abuse
  • Shoving
  • Strangling
  • Threats of harm
Go to Top