//What is the Sentence for Domestic Battery in Illinois?

What is the Sentence for Domestic Battery in Illinois?

what is the sentence for domestic battery in illinois - domestic battery defense lawyer

If you’re like many people, you need to know what kind of consequences you’re facing if you’re convicted of domestic battery – but before you get too far ahead of yourself, it’s probably a good idea to talk to a domestic violence defense lawyer who can answer all your questions and defend you in court.

So what is the sentence for domestic battery in Illinois, and how much time will you spend in jail?

What is the Sentence for Domestic Battery in Illinois?

The sentence for domestic battery varies based on whether you’re charged with a misdemeanor (that’s standard domestic battery) or a felony (for aggravated domestic battery).

Domestic Battery Sentencing

If you’re convicted of domestic battery, which means you’ve caused bodily harm to any family or household member, or you’ve made physical contact of an insulting or provoking nature with any family or household member, you’re looking at a Class A misdemeanor. That means you could spend up to a year in jail and pay fines of up to $2,500.

It’s important to know that if you have a previous domestic battery conviction – you’re not a first-time offender – then you could be looking at a Class 4 felony. This type of conviction can put you in prison for up to 3 years, and you could have to pay fines up to $25,000.

Aggravated Domestic Battery Sentencing

If you’re convicted of aggravated domestic battery, which means you knowingly caused great bodily harm, or permanent disability or disfigurement, or you strangled the other party, it’s a Class 2 felony. Being convicted of a Class 2 felony means that you could be sent to prison for 3 to 7 years. However, if you have a previous conviction of aggravated domestic battery, you could serve between 3 and 14 years in prison.

How Much Time Do You Get in Jail for Domestic Violence?

The amount of time you get in jail for domestic violence depends on whether the court convicts you of a misdemeanor or felony. You could spend between 1 year (for a misdemeanor) and 14 years (for a Class 2 felony with a prior aggravated domestic battery conviction).

Do You Need to Talk to a Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer?

If someone has accused you of domestic battery, it’s important that you get in touch with someone who can help preserve your rights and represent you in court.

Call 847-920-4540 right now to talk to an experienced domestic battery defense attorney. We’ll ask you what happened and start building a legal strategy to get you the best possible outcome today.

 

By |2018-07-03T19:35:45+00:00July 3rd, 2018|Domestic Battery|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment