If you’re convicted of domestic battery or aggravated domestic battery, you could end up spending time in jail. Here’s what you need to know about domestic battery and jail time.
Domestic Battery and Jail Time
Domestic battery is a serious criminal charge in Illinois. Not everyone who’s charged with domestic battery is convicted, but if you are, you’re going to have a permanent mark on your criminal record.
The court can convict you of domestic battery if you knowingly and without legal justification:
- Cause bodily harm to any family or household member
- Make physical contact of an insulting or provoking nature with any family or household member
In Illinois, domestic battery is a Class A misdemeanor. That means if the court convicts you of it, the judge can sentence you to up to a year in jail and fines of up to $2,500.
Aggravated Domestic Battery and Jail Time
Aggravated domestic battery is also a crime, and it’s one with a more severe punishment than domestic battery. The court can convict you of aggravated domestic battery if you knowingly cause great bodily harm or permanent disability to a family or household member or strangle a family or household member.
If you’re convicted of aggravated domestic battery, you’re looking at a Class 2 felony, so you could spend between 3 and 7 years in prison. And if you have a previous aggravated domestic battery charge, the court can sentence you to up to 14 years in prison.
Do You Need to Talk to a Lawyer About Domestic Battery and Jail Time?
If you need to talk to an attorney about domestic battery and jail time, we’re here to help.
Call us at 847-920-4540 for a free case review now. We’ll answer your questions and start developing a plan of action that gets you the best possible outcome.
Get a Free Case Review
Leave A Comment
You must be logged in to post a comment.