is domestic violence a felony or misdemeanor in illinois - domestic violence defense chicago

In the state of Illinois, domestic violence can be either a misdemeanor or a felony. Domestic battery — the term for the crime of causing bodily harm to a family or household member, or making physical contact of an insulting or provoking nature with any family or household member — is usually a Class A misdemeanor. However, aggravated domestic battery — the term used to describe the crime of committing a domestic battery while knowingly causing great bodily harm, or permanent disability or disfigurement, or who strangles another person — is a Class 2 felony.

Domestic battery can also be a Class 4 felony, such as when the person who committed the battery commits it with a firearm or has other, prior convictions for certain crimes.

Differences Between Penalties for Misdemeanor Domestic Violence and Felony Domestic Violence

The penalties for misdemeanors and felonies are vastly different under Illinois law.

Misdemeanor Domestic Violence

A Class A misdemeanor is punishable by:

  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • Up to 2 years of probation
  • A fine of up to $2,500

Felony Domestic Violence

A Class 4 felony is punishable by:

  • Between 1 and 3 years of imprisonment
  • Fines of up to $25,000

A Class 2 felony is punishable by:

  • Between 3 and 7 years of imprisonment
  • Fines of up to $25,000

Have You Been Accused of Misdemeanor Domestic Violence or Felony Domestic Violence?

If you’ve been accused of any type of domestic violence, you may want to talk to an attorney as soon as possible.

Because the penalties are so harsh—and because a conviction stays on your record forever—it may be in your best interest to talk specifically to a domestic violence defense lawyer in Chicago, Skokie, or Rolling Meadows.

Call us at 847-920-4540 for a free domestic violence defense consultation. We’ll look at the facts in your case and determine the best route to proceed.