How long do you go to jail for domestic violence in Illinois? That depends on whether you’re found guilty of domestic battery or aggravated domestic battery, and whether you’ve ever been convicted of either crime in the past.
Here’s what you need to know.
How Long Do You Go to Jail for Domestic Violence in Illinois?
In Illinois, the law lays out possible penalties for domestic battery and aggravated domestic battery. The judge in your case can sentence you based on the framework the law allows. Here’s the breakdown:
- Up to 1 year in jail: Domestic battery is a Class A misdemeanor, which means you could spend up to a year in jail and pay fines of up to $2,500.
- Up to 3 years in prison: If you have a previous domestic battery conviction, domestic battery can be a Class 4 felony. That means you could spend up to 3 years in prison and pay fines of up to $25,000.
- Up to 7 years in prison: Aggravated domestic battery is a Class 2 felony, which means you can go to prison for 3 to 7 years.
- Up to 14 years in prison: If you’ve been convicted of aggravated domestic battery in the past, you could go to prison for up to 14 years.
Every case is different, and just because a judge can sentence you to a certain number of years in prison (or a year in jail), that doesn’t mean he or she will sentence you to the maximum amount. In many cases, judges don’t use the maximum sentencing guidelines. However, that all depends on your case. If you walk into court, admit guilt, and loudly say that you’re not sorry for what you did and that the alleged victim deserved it, the judge is probably less likely to be lenient with you. Likewise, sometimes states drop domestic violence charges.
Do You Need to Talk to a Lawyer About How Long You Could Go to Jail for Domestic Violence in Illinois?
If you’ve been accused of domestic battery or aggravated domestic battery, we may be able to help you. Call us at 847-920-4540 or fill out the form below. We’ll be happy to review your case and give you the legal advice you need to start moving forward.