Whether you’re in Skokie, Rolling Meadows, or Chicago (or anywhere in-between), you’re subject to laws against domestic violence. In fact, the Illinois Domestic Violence Act of 1986 is a very broad set of laws that make domestic violence against the law.
What Are the Laws Against Domestic Violence?
While the state of Illinois uses the terms domestic battery and aggravated domestic battery to refer to domestic violence (in 720 ILCS 5/12-3.2 and 720 ILCS 5/12-3.3, specifically), they do refer to forms of domestic violence.
The laws against domestic violence in Illinois include people from several types of relationships, such as:
- Blood-related family members
- Current roommates
- Elderly adults and caregivers
- Disabled adults and caregivers
- Former roommates
- Individuals related by blood through a child
Domestic Battery Charges
You can be charged with domestic battery if you knowingly and without legal justification cause bodily harm to any family or household member, or if you make physical contact of an insulting or provoking nature with any family or household member.
Domestic battery is a Class A misdemeanor, and it’s punishable by up to a year and a fine of up to $2,500. However, in some cases, domestic battery is a Class 4 felony (typically, that’s when the battery involves a child, a firearm, or a sexual assault, or when you already have a previous domestic battery conviction or another condition outlined under Illinois law).
Aggravated Domestic Battery Charges
You can be charged with aggravated domestic battery if you’re committing domestic battery and you knowingly cause great bodily harm, permanent disability or disfigurement. Further, if you strangle someone during the domestic battery incident, you can be charged with aggravated domestic battery.
Aggravated domestic battery is a Class 2 felony, and if the court convicts you, you could spend up to 7 years behind bars. If you have a previous conviction for aggravated domestic battery, you could spend up to 14 years in prison.
Laws Against Domestic Violence: How Can a Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer Help You?
It’s important to call a Chicago domestic battery defense lawyer as soon as possible. If you’ve been accused of domestic battery or aggravated domestic battery in Chicago, Skokie, or Rolling Meadows, call us at 847-920-4540 right away for a free case review. We’ll evaluate your situation, examine the evidence, and put together a defense that gets you the best possible outcome.