What Sentence Will You Get for Domestic Battery in Illinois - Chicago Domestic Battery Defense

What sentence will you get for domestic battery in Illinois? It depends – but if you’re being charged with this crime, you may want to speak with a Chicago domestic battery defense attorney as soon as possible.

Here’s what you need to know.

What Sentence Will You Get for Domestic Battery in Illinois?

Domestic battery is a crime. In fact, it’s classified as a Class A misdemeanor in many cases. That means a judge can send you to jail for up to a year and require you to pay fines of up to $2,500.

That doesn’t mean that if you’re convicted, the judge will send you to jail for the whole year (although the judge certainly can do that). Depending on the circumstances of your case – including whether you have a good defense – the judge may choose to sentence you to “time served,” which means that the time you already spent in jail was sufficient punishment for the crime. The judge really has the ability to send you to jail for as long as he or she believes is necessary – up to a year – if you’re convicted of domestic battery as a Class A misdemeanor.

That’s in most cases, though. There are some cases in which it’s actually a felony.

Related: Is emotional abuse considered domestic battery?

What Sentence Will You Get for Felony Domestic Battery in Illinois?

Sometimes domestic battery is a felony in Illinois. The sentence you’ll get in that case can be up to 3 years in prison and fines of up to $25,000.

The state can convict you of felony domestic battery if:

  • You have a prior domestic battery conviction
  • You use a firearm
  • The battery involves a child
  • The battery involves sexual assault

Additionally, aggravated domestic battery is a Class 2 felony. Aggravated domestic battery occurs when you cause great bodily harm, or permanent disability or disfigurement. It also occurs when you strangle another individual while committing domestic battery.

Related: What should you do if someone gets an order of protection against you?

What to Do if You’re Accused of Domestic Battery in Illinois

If you’re accused of domestic battery in Illinois, you’re entitled to legal guidance – so call us at 847-920-4540 or fill out the form below. We may be able to help you, and we’ll be happy to answer your questions during a completely free consultation.

Get help now!

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.