What happens with a second domestic battery charge? If you’ve been convicted of domestic battery or aggravated domestic battery in the past, you could face much more serious penalties than you did the first time.
Here’s what you need to know.
What Happens With a Second Domestic Battery Charge?
Domestic battery is a serious crime in Illinois – and it’s one that stays on your criminal record forever. The first time you’re charged with domestic battery (as long as you don’t cause great bodily harm or strangle the alleged victim), it’s a Class A misdemeanor. However, if you have a second (or subsequent) domestic battery charge, the court can consider it a Class 4 felony. That’s part of the reason domestic battery stays on your criminal record forever; the court will know that you’ve had a previous conviction if it happens again.
If the court convicts you of domestic battery as a Class 4 felony, you’re looking at up to 3 years in prison and fines of up to $25,000.
If you’re convicted of first offense aggravated domestic battery, which is a Class 2 felony, you’re looking at a sentence of up to 7 years in prison. However, if you’re convicted of aggravated domestic battery and you’ve been convicted of the same crime in the past, you’re looking at up to 14 years in prison.
Second convictions come with longer prison sentences, whether you’re convicted of domestic battery or aggravated domestic battery.
Do You Need to Talk to a Lawyer About a Second Domestic Battery Charge in Illinois?
If you’re accused of domestic battery or aggravated domestic battery – whether it’s your first, second, third or subsequent offense – you have the right to talk to a lawyer about your case.
Call us at 847-920-4540 right now or fill out the form below so we can get back to you. We’ll be happy to review your case and talk to you about your options – as well as what types of penalties you might be facing.