How Bad is a Domestic Battery Charge - Chicago Illinois Domestic Battery Defense Lawyer

If you’re like many people who have been arrested for domestic battery, you need to know: How bad is a domestic battery charge in Illinois?

The answer is a little bit complicated, because several factors come into play. Here’s what you need to know.

How Bad is a Domestic Battery Charge?

Domestic battery can be a Class A misdemeanor, a Class 4 felony or a Class 2 felony. The circumstances of your case will determine which type of crime the state charges you with – and whether the state can actually prove that you committed the crime.

How Bad is a Domestic Battery Charge When It’s a Class A Misdemeanor?

If the state convicts you of domestic battery as a Class A misdemeanor, you’re looking at up to a year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines. You may spend a few days in jail or you could spend 364 days in jail – it all depends on the circumstances of your case.

Most cases of domestic battery are Class A misdemeanors. However, there are some cases in which a domestic battery becomes a felony.

Related: Is emotional abuse considered domestic battery?

How Bad is a Domestic Battery Charge When It’s a Class 4 Felony?

If you’ve been convicted of domestic battery before, the state can charge you with domestic battery as a Class 4 felony. Additionally, it can charge you with a Class 4 felony if:

  • You used a firearm during the domestic battery
  • The battery involved a child
  • The battery involved sexual assault

The punishment for domestic battery as a Class 4 felony is up to three years in prison and fines of up to $25,000. The judge doesn’t have to sentence you to a full three years in prison, but he or she may choose to, depending on the circumstances of your case.

Related: What should you do if someone gets an order of protection against you?

How Bad is a Domestic Battery Charge When It’s a Class 2 Felony?

When you’re charged with aggravated domestic battery, you’re looking at a Class 2 felony. Aggravated domestic battery involves causing great bodily harm or permanent disability or disfigurement; and if you strangled someone during the commission of domestic battery, it’s also considered a Class 2 felony.

Learn More About Your Domestic Battery Charge – And Your Options

If you’ve been accused of domestic battery, we may be able to help you. Call 847-920-4540 now or fill out the form below to get a free consultation. We can answer your questions and, if we work together, develop a strategy that gets you the best possible outcome.

Get help now!

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.